October 6, 2008

Susan Orman on Life Insurance

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Susan Orman on Life Insurance

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October 6, 2008

h2oskier45 @ 4:38 pm

Desmoluvr, I tried talking with this grasshopper goof about a Dave Ramsey video. He can’t get out of his own way. He must be related to A.L. Williams or something because he’s the scariest rep I’ve ever seen. A person who can’t or won’t learn, remains ignorant, and it appears that this will be his plight for life.

October 7, 2008

grasshopperyr711 @ 4:43 pm

Garbage! I can debunk that idiot any time. You too! Let’s talk about your VUL policy. Start with how much you pay and what is your beginning coverage? Also, share your starting age and what your fund is suppose to be by age 65 at 12% since I’m sure that is what you were shown. If you aren’t willing to break this down, then it’s time to put up or shut up. Put your money where your mouth is. :-)

grasshopperyr711 @ 8:05 pm

This is debunking buy term and invest the difference? First of all, with term, you could double or triple your coverage at half the price. That way, you are better covered for which you should be buying the life insurance for in the first place. And, how are your funds doing now??? So, you can’t claim anything better than investing the difference in a Roth IRA, now can you? Also, only one company has to go out of business to lose all your money, your insurance company. Read the Separate Acct.

October 9, 2008

desmoluvr @ 4:56 pm

“He’s getting paid to be a NLU-CLU spokesperson”. Please offer up some sort of proof to that. Have you even bothered reading any of his books? Life ins is only one of many topics that he discusses. There was a great article last year in Physicians Practice magazine debunking the myth of “buy term and invest the rest”. At least for the more affluent crowd.

October 10, 2008

grasshopperyr711 @ 10:50 am

So, he makes money from selling books proping up life insurance agents who steal from their clients by selling cash value policies. Have you bothered listening to real consumer advocates many of them who are CPA’s that completely debunk his myths? And, how do you know that he isn’t an insurance salesman too? He’s getting paid to be a NLU-CLU spokesperson.

grasshopperyr711 @ 3:53 pm

Who was sued? What are you talking about? The fact is, the CLU and Press got their clocks or clucks cleaned!!! They were lying and the judge didn’t buy them.

I don’t care what title you give them. If they sell cash value they are clucks!!!

desmoluvr @ 10:47 pm

Ed Slott is a CPA not an insurance agent. He DOES NOT make a “big” commission from his customers. Have you even read any of his books? You sound ignorant of the facts.

October 11, 2008

desmoluvr @ 12:16 pm

Ok, if CLU isn’t good enough. How about a ChFC or a CFP or a CPA? The lawsuit you mention, was that before or after he was convicted of securities fraud?

October 14, 2008

grasshopperyr711 @ 3:47 am

She knows about them.

October 16, 2008

grasshopperyr711 @ 3:47 am

If the insurance company goes out of business, which is more likely in today’s world, a client would lose all they had in the policy. Any separate account in a UL policy is subject to this. Just read the Separate Account in a policy or the prospectus. With term, you can buy much more insurance and get a VA that will to the same thing separate from the policy and not have your money at risk from failure of the insurance company. And, the added cost for a IUL or EIUL is much higher.

October 17, 2008

grasshopperyr711 @ 2:08 am

Oh, CLU, half a CLUCK!!! Standard bearer, LOL! I remember the the CLU with help from the NLU took A.L. Williams to a Law Court in the State of California in about 1991. I have a copy of the ruling. The Law Judge, after ruling in favor of ALW went out and bought a Term Policy on his own life. During the hearing, lies were reveiled from letters sent from the NLU to the CLU. Both the head of each organizations literally hyperventalated on the stand. CLU is a worthless organization.

October 18, 2008

eisforevan @ 3:50 pm

but these policies are pretty new so i dont know if she knew about them at the time the show was being conducted.

October 19, 2008

eisforevan @ 7:41 am

She briefly talked about universal life insurance, but that in my opinion is the best life insurance out there. If you can get a hold of a policy with IULs or EIULs your pretty much set. Money goes up when the market is up but it stays the same when the market goes down. It brings in a good amount of interest as well-depending on the insurer. On top of that, There are companies like national life that provide all of this and you dont have to be dead to pull out your money.

October 21, 2008

Speedseeker1996 @ 4:34 pm

NOT TRUE >> You sound like and most likely are a very desperate whole life insurance salesman… Don’t worry about it, I think you could have a very successful career as a comedian.

Speedseeker1996 @ 5:51 pm

I actually know a whole life insurance agent and his own personal insurance policy that he has for his family is TERM.

October 22, 2008

Speedseeker1996 @ 7:36 am

She is right on the money! Really no need to talk about this. All anyone has to do is the math. 600.00 a month for 20 years at 10% rate of return is around a 500,000.00 — So i ask you who needs insurance at that point. Term is simple simple simple…. No one and I say again no one will ever sale me or anyone in my family cash value of any kind. I will control my investments not some insurance company. Are you guys realy sold on cash value insurance.

October 24, 2008

grasshopperyr711 @ 2:53 pm

No, it is not. In fact, the NY Dept. of Ins. had to force companies to pay the claims. Primerica never batted an eye since we don’t have a “war clause” in our policy. You need to get your facts straight!!!

October 26, 2008

grasshopperyr711 @ 3:11 pm

Say a $100,000 WL policy costs $100/mo to begin with. The cost/thousand is $12. 1200/100. At age 95, the cash value could be about $95,000. Thus, the Insuranc Company is on the hook for only $5,000. Thus, paying $100 for $5,000 of coverage is a cost/thousand of $240. More than the $100 that is being put in. So, now what is more expensive???

October 28, 2008

grasshopperyr711 @ 6:56 am

Let me try to explain the true cost of WL. With my example of a $100,000 Death benefit having $30,000 in the CV. The Ins. Company is now only coverning you for $70,000. Say, policy is $100/mo. That is $1200 a year. In the beginning, the cost per thousand is 1200/100 = $12/thousand. When covered by only $70,000 the cost per thousand becomes 1200/70=$17.15/thousand. Paying the same but getting less. Thus, WL gets more expensive too! Term will always be less.

desmoluvr @ 3:09 pm

Grasshopper that is a bold face lie about claims being denied after 9/11. “All” other companies? I don’t think so. You need to get your facts straightened out before you make such outrageous claims.

October 30, 2008

desmoluvr @ 9:23 am

Term policies can “say” they go to age 95, hell to age 120 if they want but what are the premiums at that point and what 95 yo is going to pay it?

November 2, 2008

desmoluvr @ 1:51 pm

Just wondering how many Primerica reps are CLU’s which is the standard bearer for knowledge in the industry? Any one have a clue?

November 5, 2008

KNT0791 @ 5:32 pm

So take a WL policy, and hold it forever, and get term and renew it twice and see which one costs more, long term. Most WLs have a date on which your premiums stop. Go ahead, do the math. And how can anyone say you just drop the term when you don’t need it anymore, how do they know where they’re going to be 20 years from now?

November 7, 2008

grasshopperyr711 @ 9:22 pm

Term doesn’t end any sooner than UL or WL. Perhaps you aren’t licensed. You surely aren’t educated in term insurance. I don’t care when you want to compare prices, term is always less expensive.

November 11, 2008

KNT0791 @ 6:15 am

You are sadly uninformed.

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